Designing An App

Cringer

ProgressTalk.com Moderator
Staff member
I am thinking of creating a modern app for viewing a DB schema, sample data within DB tables, maybe user info, and other things if I get a chance.
I want it to be reasonably simple to create and look good. It will run on Windows (sorry Tom!).
So in terms of design, the idea is that the user will be able to select a database to connect to using the standard screens for that. Once connected you will see all tables and fields and indexes for that database.
The thing is, I've little to no experience of other technologies other than ABL GUI so I'm looking for advice.
Getting the data is easy. It will all be done in pcode that's run after creating an alias to the DB in question. It's more about how to design th GUI side. I'm thinking of having a look at the Telerik GUI controls. How would I go about building those? Is there a getting started guide? How do I work with the data from my pcode?
Sorry for all the questions. I'm trying to take the opportunity to expand my knowledge. I'm not too bothered about it being purely OO or anything - just want it to work. But I'd like it to be good to look at, and not reliant on ocx's etc so it's more future proof and transferrable.
Any thoughts and inputs gratefully received! Sorry for the ramble!

Rob Fitzpatrick

ProgressTalk.com Sponsor
I understand that, even if this type of thing may have been built before, you want to do it regardless as a learning exercise. But it may be helpful for you to look at other tools that have some similar functionality, for feature ideas if not for UI design.

It sounds like there's a fair amount of feature intersection between the app you've described and Patrick Tingen's DataDigger. Another one I use regularly, almost daily, is White Star's DB Report tool; not sure if it's still available though. Looking at those might give you some good ideas. I can't help you with UI programming though. :(