Accessing Progress with ODBC

huntermccray

Hey Guys and Gals,
I am a newbie to this forum, and even more of a newbie to Progress. And, you guessed it, I need some help.

I have an application that runs my retail business that I wrote using Visual Basic with an Access Database. My main supplier uses a Progress Database, with a front-end of unknown origin (unknown to me, anyway). They have distributed an application that allows me to place orders and check their inventory via a direct dial phone connection. Their front-end utilizes a local (to me) progress database and the dial-up simply does the house-keeping.

I would like to incorporate some of their database into my own application. I would like to be able to transfer my Purchase Orders directly to their database structure, and I would like to access their inventory from my application.

To accomplish these tasks, I need to know what Software I will need. I have no plans to create any applications that require the full blown Progress Package, and I have no need to alter the underlieing Progress database structure. I do need to be able to access the tables and queries along with their field names and parameter names. I have read a bit on the Progress Site about an SDK that allows access to progress using ODBC, but I have been unable to find whether there is a shareware or freeware version of this, or if the functionality is built into Win 2000 Pro....In short I know nothing about Progress.

Can Progress be opened from MS Visual Studio Products W/O a current version of Progress? Can I use SQL statements to access it?

Thank you all in advance for bearing with someone who is such a newbie. Any help or responses would be greatly appreciated.

With Warm Regards,

Hunter McCray

MurrayH

Use ODBC