Upgrade from 9.1E to 12.8 (Windows)

JLovegren

I am finally going to do an upgrade from my aging 9.1e to the latest version. Working with Progress now.
I own the source code for my application. Workgroup database, 50 users. Windows Server 2003 - migrating to Server 2019 or 2022.
Not using application servers.

According to PSC I should do a dump/reload to get my database and a "simple" recompile would bring my application to the latest.

Questions:
Has anyone done this kind of 20 year jump?
Any recommendations?

I can hire PSC to help me install the latest version of OpenEdge and setup my database, for a fee, of course. Does anyone have experience working with them for this kind of activity (installation, database setup) plus some compile help?

Should I seek a local expert instead - I prefer someone that has used version 9 and remembers how simple it is to install and also has experience with installing the latest version?

I am not an expert, my programmer left California and I have been keeping it running all this time, we now have the upgrade budget.

I use Excel (CREATE "Excel.Application" chExcelApplication.) and pdfinclude for reports. I was told that these should work fine after the update. I will also be updating the pdfinclude to the latest version.

I am in the Los Angeles area, specifically Long Beach, CA if anyone is in that area and available to help I would be open to establishing a relationship for support.

Best,
Joe Lovegren.

dimitri.p

Hi neighbor!
By now , you could/should (MUST) get your hands on an evaluation of the version you are about to leap onto.
9.1e on server 2022 and or W11 is not unheard of. Just not talked about in public. For a variety of reasons, some good, some bad.
There is no reason to not look before you leap and verify all the claims before you commit to a version change.
You could either dump and reload, or even convert the DB from 9to 10, 10 to 11, 11 to 12 just to see where youare at.