WebClient Environment: Was good for you?

MSilva

Hi peggers,

After 6 months developing an application based on WC environment, I got a disgusting question: Have you had productivity working with ADM2 / WC?

I've been working with progress since Version 5 (1990), and I was surprised with good productivity when I first coded a program....

We used to code a medium complexity program in 6 or 8 hours,
now, sometimes, using WC and ADM2 we spend 40 hours to code a similar program.

I've seen some "progressTalk" threads (from year 2001) saying about miracles of webclient, I hope this is true, but my plans to finishing my application in X months was seriously damaged, and my customer is getting ....... :dead:

We know that new technologies knowledge has a time to grow up
but , it's really hard to find out information about ADM2 x WC.

Who's using WebClient and ADM2 ?

How many apps have been finished?

Living as a ExtremeGames player, my adrenaline is really high!

Anybody can says *The Good News*?

Thanks

MSilva

Off topic a bit but anyway...

We had an app written pre web client which was suffering performance problems on a WAN in certain areas. The app is one million + lines of code - large.

Our bosses for some reason got in Progress consultants to see if they could help. Progress consulatans says rewrite the entire app to use Webclient - DOW.

Bosses put the app into car and maintenance and are going to develop a new product using a different language (probably using cheep offshore slave labour!).

Cheers Progress!

By using Webclient Progress are forcing you to effectivley write your own middleware.

To improve the perfomance of our app they could of done some things to the client server model they use. Such as: -

Doing joins at server
Sorted queries on server
Not be so chatty about record creates etc.