Selecting system date

Gad Zooks

Hi all,

Hope somebody can help, I'm pretty new to Progress although I have done a lot of SQL stuff with other databases. I am writing some data profiling software which already works well with Oracle, SqlServer and other databases but I am having some fun making it work with Progress.

I have worked out that I can select a system date in the format "YYYY-MM-DD HH24:MI:SS" from a table in the following manner;

select MIN(CONCAT(
to_char(sysdate(), 'YYYY-MM-DD '),
to_char( systime(), 'HH24:MI:SS')
)) as sdate
from PUB.my_table

but this seems pretty inefficient if "my_table" has a lot of rows.

In SqlServer I can just select the date without specifying a table by omitting the FROM clause e.g.

SELECT CONVERT(CHAR(19), GETDATE(), 120 )

In Oracle they have a pseudo-table, DUAL, which I can use e.g.

SELECT TO_CHAR( SYSDATE, 'YYYY-MM-DD HH24:MI:SS' ) FROM DUAL

How can I achieve something similar in Progess SQL? It doesn't seem to work if I simply omit the FROM clause and I really want to avoid scanning tables just to get the system date.

Also, what GUI front-ends do people use with Progress? Are there any good freebies out there?

Many thanks for your help,

Gad

Cringer

ProgressTalk.com Moderator
Staff member
Just a thought, can you query hidden tables? If so, use something like the table PUB._MstrBlk as this has only 1 record AFAIK.

Gad Zooks

That worked perfectly, thank-you muchly.

I'm having all kinds of fun and games getting what are sometimes even pretty simple queries to run but generally with a bit of perseverance I'm finding a way to get stuff to work!

For example:

SELECT SUM(CASE WHEN "col" IS NOT NULL THEN 1 ELSE 0 END) as "sum_col"
FROM PUB."my_table"

works, but

SELECT SUM(CASE WHEN "col" IS NOT NULL THEN 1 ELSE 0 END)
FROM PUB."my_table"

does not.