Progress 9.1e couple of noob questions

First of all hello to everybody, I think I will be sticking around this forum :D.

Preface: I just got started working for a company on upgrading their ERP software, written in Progress 8, that used to be called ShopPro to Encompix program, written in Progress 9.3e. My goal is to make transition and add couple of widgets and things the company needs in their estimating and sales portion. I have never worked with Progress or any database software before, but I am majoring in CIS and have some C++ and Java experience.

The database has already been translated from Progress 8 to Progress 9 and after couple of days of playing around I found AppBuilder (?Is it a good program to use or is there something better?), but am still struggling to get it working (gives me "Font 11 not in font set: 4499")

Q1: The simple editor keeps crashing after 3-4 compiles, giving me an "unable to assign UNKNOWN value to attribute parent on WINDOW widget:4083" error. What could be the cause of that?

...I have a lot more questions but its really difficult to put some of them in words, if anybody could point me to some good basic reading material, that apply to my situation I would be grateful.

Thanks in advance.

TomBascom

Curmudgeon
Documentation and training for v9 is going to be hard to come by. Version 9 was replaced with version 10 5 or more years ago. (Progress version 10 is officially known as OpenEdge release 10 or, less officially, OE10.)

OE10 uses an Eclipsed based IDE known as "Architect". It is way better than app-builder.

As for your error... it means what it says. You are, somehow, attempting to assign the unknown value (NULL, Progress represents this as ?) to the window's parent. So look for code which has statements like:

Code:
blah:parent = ?

Of course it may not be so obvious -- the unknown value may be in a variable, possibly as a result of some failed attempt to do something else.