Question Everything I know about Indexes and Querys are wrong.

Cecil

19+ years progress programming and still learning.
OE 11.3 WebSpeed
OS Linux CentOS 6.4 64bit

I've been a Progress Programmer for 15-16 years quite happily writing code the and learning from other Progress developers along the way. However for the last 6-7 years I been coding solo and I came across a complexing situation with a new piece of code I'm writing.

I've created simple database which stores Geo IP Address ranges relating IP address to Geo Location i.e. City & Country. I know there are API Web Services which does for me, I just wanted to create my own Database.

The confusion I am having is between FOR FIRST vs. FOR LAST for a unique record find, when there are about 1.7 million records.

This query takes 0-1 milliseconds to process.
Code:
DEFINE VARIABLE inIPAddress AS INT64  NO-UNDO.

inIPAddress = convIPaddressToDec(INPUT  "114.45.67.89").
FOR LAST GeoCityBlock NO-LOCK
    WHERE GeoCityBlock.IPAddressFromDec LE inIPAddress
    AND  GeoCityBlock.IPAddressToDec  GE inIPAddress:

END.

This code takes about 4752 milliseconds to process.???
Code:
DEFINE VARIABLE inIPAddress AS INT64  NO-UNDO.

inIPAddress = convIPaddressToDec(INPUT  "114.45.67.89").

FOR FIRST GeoCityBlock NO-LOCK
END.

Why would FOR FIRST Take longer to process? I must confess that I hardly (almost never) use a FIND LAST or FOR LAST statement because I've never needed to. Teach an Old dog new trick.

The convIPaddressToDec function just convert IPv4 IP address into a integer (int64).

DataDefinitions for the GeoCityBlock Table:
Code:
ADD TABLE "GeoCityBlock"
  AREA "Schema Area"
  DUMP-NAME "geocity"

ADD FIELD "IPAddressFromDec" OF "GeoCityBlock" AS int64
  FORMAT ">>>>>>>>>9"
  INITIAL "0"
  LABEL "IP Address From Dec"
  POSITION 2
  MAX-WIDTH 8
  COLUMN-LABEL "IP AddressFrom Dec"
  ORDER 30

ADD FIELD "IPAddressToDec" OF "GeoCityBlock" AS int64
  FORMAT ">>>>>>>>>9"
  INITIAL "0"
  LABEL "IP Address To Dec"