Programming Question, Find First, VS. For First...

tbaxter11

Hi All!....
I’m an old time Progress programmer who got out of the programming
world for a few years, but now I’m back… my question is code
performance-specific… I recall reading somewhere (Possibly in one of
John Campbell’s publications) that a

for first record. end.

is more efficient than a

find first record.

I’ve proven it with enhanced program speed, but… I don’t recall the
explanation of the mechanics which make the “for first” statement
faster than the “find first”… could some kind soul out there jog this
old man’s memory about the “inner workings” of this statement vs. the
find statement? (they both used the same "where" criteria AND the
same index, but with substantial and noticeable performance
differences.) Thank-you, Terry Baxter tbaxter999@gmail.com

Cringer

ProgressTalk.com Moderator
Staff member
I'm not sure of the ins and outs, but a FOR FIRST is able to use multiple indexes, whereas FIND FIRST just uses on index. Also, best practise is not to use FIND FIRST at all unless you are 100% certain you will only ever get back one record, rather use FIND on its own and check for ambiguity.

RealHeavyDude

The FIND is designed to retrieve a unique record so there is no sense in using FIRST. When using FIRST it will happily retrieve the record even when the find is not unique and chances are that you will encounter silent database corruption.

Probably the only reason why the FIRST, NEXT, PREV, LAST option on FIND exists is UI related. In V6 ChUI you would use these to scroll to a down frame. But, IMHO, that is the only legitimate use case and of course, since Progress introduced the browse widget probably not recommended anymore too.