Dynamically selecting records in temp-table

Kladkul

I am fairly new to working with dynamic temp-tables and, for testing purposes, need to select specific records in the temp-table. What is the best way to go about this?

-Klad

Casper

ProgressTalk.com Moderator
Staff member
you will need a query to find those records.
Just create a dynamic query with the temp-tables default buffer handle as buffer for the query and query the temp-table as you like.

Casper.

palthe

I am fairly new to working with dynamic temp-tables and, for testing purposes, need to select specific records in the temp-table. What is the best way to go about this?

-Klad

Code:
/* 
Test case for Kladkul
*/

DEF VAR tt      AS HANDLE   NO-UNDO.
DEF VAR btt     AS HANDLE   NO-UNDO.
DEF VAR ttquery AS HANDLE   NO-UNDO.
DEF VAR ctable  AS CHAR     NO-UNDO. 
DEF VAR btable  AS HANDLE   NO-UNDO.
DEF VAR rrow    AS ROWID    NO-UNDO. /* optional */

/*
Creating temp-table
*/
ctable = "customer".
CREATE BUFFER btable FOR TABLE ctable.
CREATE TEMP-TABLE tt.
tt:CREATE-LIKE(btable).
tt:ADD-NEW-FIELD("Rowid","rowid"). /* this is optional, but comes in handy in some cases */
tt:TEMP-TABLE-PREPARE("temp").
btt = tt:DEFAULT-BUFFER-HANDLE.

/*
Populating temp-table
*/
CREATE QUERY ttquery.
ttquery:SET-BUFFERS(btable).
ttquery:QUERY-PREPARE(SUBSTITUTE("for each &1",ctable)).
ttquery:QUERY-OPEN.
ttquery:GET-FIRST(NO-LOCK).
DO WHILE NOT ttquery:QUERY-OFF-END:
    btt:BUFFER-CREATE.
    btt:BUFFER-COPY(btable).
    btt:BUFFER-FIELD("rowid"):BUFFER-VALUE = btable:ROWID. /* again optional, you create a unique handle to the original table buffer */
    ttquery:GET-NEXT(NO-LOCK).
END.
ttquery:QUERY-CLOSE.
DELETE OBJECT ttquery.

/*
Now you have a populated temp-table for the table customer.
You can access the data in the tt with a new query or just do a dynamic find.
Query:
*/
CREATE QUERY ttquery.
ttquery:SET-BUFFERS(btt).
ttquery:QUERY-PREPARE("for each temp").
ttquery:QUERY-OPEN.
ttquery:GET-FIRST(NO-LOCK).