Dynamic Menus

Hi all!

I am having a bit of trouble with dynamic menus. I have a routine which works well in VER 8.2 character. This routine builds a menu dynamically using the contents of a table. To get the menu to run procedures in the calling program the triggers in the memory use a :
on choose persistent run .....

This allows menus to be readily deployed with a single line in the main program, then procedures to handle the menu choices. Just what you want.

However in Ver9 gui (in which I have very little experience to date) the same routine gives a '"procedurename" was not found' message.

It doesn't seem to matter if the menu is built in an internal or external routine, the same result occurs. Leaving out the "persistent" modifier stops the message occurring as the trigger goes out of scope when the building procedure terminates, and therefore does nothing when the menu item is selected..

So the problem is, in V9 Gui, why can't the menu find the procedure specified, and what can I do to make it work?

Any good ideas?

David

Hi Dave,

This could be something simple, like adding 'IN THIS-PROCEDURE' to the run statement. There may have been a change in behaviour between v8 and v9, but I wasn't aware of it.

mra

Junior???? Member
I've tried to build dynamic menus in V9 and it works with
run ..... in this-procedure ...

regards
Mike

Thanks for the help people.

It turned out that adding ... in this-procedure didn't work, I had in fact tried that already.

Problem was, it wasn't in "this-procedure" but the main calling procedure, as the menu was not built in the main procedure. However passing a handle to the procedure does work:

run makemenu(this-procedure:handle).

procedure makemenu:
def input parameter h_proc as handle.
on choose persistent run value(proc-name) in h_proc.
end.

This works using either an internal or external procedure to build the menu.

Thanks again,
David

Kladkul