Dumping data into CSV format (urgent) ...

vinsym

Hi guys,

I'm quite new to Progress. I've been assigned a task of extracting data from an application that runs on progress 7.3B (i presume). The licenses in relation to progress database, that i see on the server hosting this application are as follows:

- Network DB Server (7.3B)
- Client Networking (7.3E) &
- Query/RESULTS (7.3E)

Is there someway by which i could dump data into files of CSV format?

Thanks in advance
Vinod

sekarv018

Hi,

You can use the export option to dump the records into a csv format

Def stream s1.
output stream s1 to "pathname/output.tpe" .

for each tablename no-lock:
export stream s1 delimiter "," tablename .
end.
output stream s1 close.

Here pathname is the output path as to where you want to export the details.

Please note i have used output.tpe as the output file. You can change it depending on the number of records you want to export. If less than 60k then you can very well use a csv itself.

Regards
Sekar

vinsym

Sekar,

That doesn't seem to work. If i copy/paste the code snippet you had sent on to the procedure editor and try executing the same, i get the following message as output:

"This version of PROGRESS compiles only encrypted programs. (1086)"

Not sure on how this could be handled ...

By the way, this is the command i used in invoking the editor ...

_prowin.exe -rx -p _edit.pc

Thanks
Vinod

TomBascom

Curmudgeon
The -rx parameter is causing the message about encrypted programs.

To start Progress you should probably just use _prowin with no arguments.

You have a QUERY license so you should be able to compile and run data extract programs. You should also be able to use the data dictionary to dump data.

I don't know why 60k would matter -- the program that sekarv018 posted will output any size file. The only limitation is any OS limit (like 2GB).

vinsym