connecting to progress db

lindaklu

Hi all! I'm completely new to progress db. Can someone help me on the codes how to connect to a progress database? Can I write asp codes:
set cn=Server.CreateObject("ADODB.connection")
set rs=Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Recordset")
cn.Open "DSN=database"

str="SELECT * FROM table1 "

I have no idea how please help I'd appreciate it very much!!

Connecting to a database

Can you be more specific please.

How do you want to connect to a database? using ODBC for SQL queries? using the progress procedure editor?
I have expierence with a variety of different progress database standard software so if you are trying to connect to a specific database let me know and I may be able to give you all the parameter info that you need.

If you need parameter information this is often saved in the folder c:/windows/ in a file called services.

Kind regards

Andrew Price
www.innov-8.de

lindaklu

Hello Andrew,
Thank you for your reply. I already got the Progress DB connection working. But I'm still having some other problems I hope you can help me.
I'm querying from a Progress DB, selecting the the items that the customer had ordered (including the item#, date ordered, price, etc...). When I run the query, for some reason only the items in the year 2000 are displayed, items from other years (1997, 1998, 2001... are not displayed). And no I did not filter the year.
Another problem I'm facing is that it skips the 0's when reading number starting with 0's. For ex. # 01234, it'd only display 1234. Why is that & how do I make it display the whole number. I'd appreciate your help asap!!
Linda

Hi Linda,

In answer to your first query can you send me a sample of the code you are using to call up the dates then maybe I can help you.

Number fields can be defined in a number of ways in progress. The Integer data type can be defined as:
zzzz9 or as 9999 and other variants of this code. The datatype zzzz9 means that the 0 will not be displayed.