Barcode printing issue

psujeeperman02

Hello,
Currently we use Okidata 320 model printers to print code 39 barcodes to labels we use for inventory.
We want to put more data in the barcode, but the barcode is getting too big for the label, and getting a bigger label is out of the question because of our inventory boxes being used.
I am fairly new to Progress programming, but in one of our label programs, I see a string like "20021110" which is the string that prints our barcodes to the Okidata printers which is what they recognize with the built-in barcode fonts.

I would like to move to code 128 barcodes. If the above is printing code 39 barcodes, what do I need to change in order to print code 128?

LarryD

Have you checked the Okidata web site for the manual(s) on what escape sequences to send to the printer for your specific model of printer?

In general, there are escape sequences that are sent to the printer to switch the fonts from/to barcodes. I did a quick google search and found several links to manuals that have the info I think you are looking for, but given that there were more than one version of the 320 was unsure which you might need.

Jeffery Dodds

Attachments

• printcodes.jpg
    printcodes.jpg
    6.3 KB · Views: 67

psujeeperman02

Thanks Jeffery.
From my understanding, Code 128 incorporates a checksum digit at the end of the output. Does this need to be calculated into the string as well?

If you can try editing the printer control file without blowing things up (in a controlled environment for experimentation) try this:

ESC DLE A n1=4 20021110

the ESC might need to be a special ESC character Alt+027 in windows
DLE is Alt+016

You'll need a good text edit that shows you all control codes to see these.

I'm trying to upload a pic.
http://www.overtheshoulderproductions.com/printcodes.jpg

http://my.okidata.com/man4410.nsf/3...d7ae1b1fafba0bfe852566e20049b970?OpenDocument

Jeffery Dodds