Question AdminServer plugins

alay

Hi guys,

Kind of a newbie to Progress and the first time I'm asking a question on the forums here. I've been hitting a brick wall with trying to understand this and have not been able to find much from the documentation or online. Can someone provide an explanation about the workings of the AdminServer plugins? How does the whole architecture interact. Also, what kind of components decide which plugins are installed, etc?

I would greatly appreciate if anybody can answer my questions or point me in the right direction.

Cheers.

Cringer

ProgressTalk.com Moderator
Staff member
Personally I don't know, but I would ask why you want to know this? I've been doing Progress stuff for over 12 years and never had the need to know this.

RealHeavyDude

Usually you don't need to deal with the AppServer plug-ins. If you have to, you usually have an underlying problem.

The AdminServer is a management service that can manage different other service usually used to operate an AppServer or WebSpeed Broker. Theses services may or may not involve a NameServer. Usually these are the components you have to deal with configuration-wise - not installation-wise.

Heavy Regards, RealHeavyDude.

TheMadDBA

As the others have said... you typically don't care about the plugins unless you are trying to configure one. This doesn't happen that often honestly.

If you really want to dive into the gory details have a look at the $DLC/properties/AdminServerPlugins.properties file. This controls which plugins can/will be loaded depending on your actual license. Most are loaded as different java threads within in the adminserver itself. If memory serves me right I have modified this file maybe twice (at the direction of Progress support) in the last 30 years on hundreds of installs.

The configuration files for various plugins are also stored in the properties directory and would be the ones to modify (or not) depending on which one you care about.