UIB-problems ... HELP!

janjansen

I am a graduat student and have a progress-test next week. However, I encountered some
problems preparing
for this course. I'm sure these are all stupid little things, but since there is no
written course
whatsoever and the progress-help function isn't too obvious, here are my problems. I
sincerely hope someone
can answer (part of) them:
1. How can you create an extra column in a browse (meaning that this column doesn't
represent a database
field) that, whenever a certain value in the browse is empty ("?"), displays a message.
2. When I mark menu-options as being "toggle-box", they can be checked, but they aren't
automatically
unchecked when another selection is made. Can this only be solved by adding code?
3. How can I (slightly) widen columns of a browse?
4. When you use the alphabet-control panel to modify the content of a browse, how are you
supposed to create
the link between the control and the browse (using "filter-value").
5. How can I determine which fields should be listed in a Smart Option-panel (sort-by)?

I repeat, I'm an absolute beginner so show some mercy and HELP ME!!!

For anyone who bothers: my ethernal thanks ...

tdi

Progress Fan
For the first question.

Define VAR x like <whatever youlike or need>.

Then on the browse property window go to fields, and then choose Calculated fields down the list of fields, on expresion:
<expresion> @ x.

Voila.

Octavio Olguin.

tdi

Progress Fan
i have to repost cause the code went abroad...

For the first question.
<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Arial, Verdana">code:</font><HR><pre>Define VAR x like <whatever you need or want>.
[/code]

Then on the browse property window go to fields, and then choose Calculated fields down the list of fields, on expresion:

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Arial, Verdana">code:</font><HR><pre>
<expresion> @ x. [/code]

Voila.

Octavio Olguin.

tdi

Progress Fan
damn...
redface.gif