Answered Scheme Changes & Recompilation

JoseKreif

Sorry if this is a noobie question.

Our team is in the process of deciding whether or not to add a new table to one of our databases. IIRC, my progress mentor told me when I started learning that any changes to the database schema would require all programs to be recompiled.

Does this only apply to adding fields to an existing table? Or will adding an additional table require all programs to be recompiled? Is this even an issue with Progress these days?

We are using the 10.2B version of OpenEdge on a Linux Distro

I have 10.1c and we don't need to recompile if table, field or index is added.
We have clear if we add an index we need to recompile for the new index can be choosed, but if we not recompile the programs keep working.

TomBascom

Curmudgeon
Unless you are on an incredibly ancient, obsolete and quite unsupported release adding tables, fields or indexes does NOT require a recompile.

If you are on a reasonably up to date release you can do such things online -- no downtime required.

Of course static queries in pre-existing r-code cannot take advantage of these new objects until that code is recompiled since the previously compiled code has no way to know that they exist. If you think about it that makes perfect sense... and if you think about it some more most actual use cases would also require you to modify at least some code in some way before recompiling it ;) but you shouldn't need to recompile code that doesn't care about the new stuff.

Last edited:

JoseKreif

Unless you are on an incredibly ancient, obsolete and quite unsupported release adding tables, fields or indexes does NOT require a recompile.

If you are on a reasonably up to date release you can do such things online -- no downtime required.