Progress Strength and Future

kinkikids

Hi All,

i am new in Progress 4GL. I came from a 4 years Web developemnt/Delphi/SI background. Currently joining a new company that uses progress as a development tools for its MNC Internal System.

Sorry to say, i only heard bout Progress when i joined this company. And when searching on web about progress, i am surprise that its such infamous among the IT world. It really make me doubt about my decision to join this comp.

I know working is not about racing with technology, but to develop our soft skills such as problem analytical, interpersonal and project management skills. But i will constantly feel insecure of the language. It mostly happend during the down tide/stressful period.

Just wish to ask the fellow forumers for the following question:
1. Is Progress had came to it's end in the developement world?
2. What is the biggest advantages/Disadvantages of Progress compared to other languages?
3. (A very stupid question, but do hope to get response from you guys) What do you all think of Hot Chicks SAP/other ERP?

Thanks and i like this informative forum!

tamhas

ProgressTalk.com Sponsor
This topic shows up regularly and a bit of searching the archives here and at other Progress sites should get you a bunch of answers, but the short version is that it all depends on your point of view.

The truth of the matter is that Progress Software is a bigger company with more sales now than it ever has. It has expanded its product line to include a number of technologies which are considered industry leaders. The sales in the OpenEdge division have not grown dramatically, but neither have they shrunk as some people are constantly predicting. And, the product itself has evolved dramatically for increased capabilities.