[Progress News] [Progress OpenEdge ABL] Meet Svetlin Nikolaev, Director, Innovation and UX at Progress

• Thread starter Tsvetiana Zaharieva
  • Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
T

Tsvetiana Zaharieva

Today, we shine a spotlight on Svetlin Nikolaev, who has been recognized for daring to innovate, one of the ProgressPROUD core values we strive to embody every day.

Having joined the company in 2008, Svetlin is currently leading the innovation teams at Progress, working on products like Fiddler Everywhere (web debugging tool), Unite UX (part of DevTools Design Story for customization and design-to-development handoff), Telerik UI for Unity XR (components for AR/VR) and more. A software developer by trade and an avid fan of every form of visual arts, from the start of his career Svetlin has been focusing more on the human side of software.

In his spare time, he’s a full-time adventurer. He is into riding motorcycles, racing cars, travelling and winter sports. The one thing Svetlin always has in his possession is a device with a camera, be it a smartphone or a vintage camera, as he calls it a “second nature” to capture the moments around him.

Find out more about Svetlin in the following interview.

You’ve been with Progress for almost 14 years now. What attracted you to the company in the first place?​

Prior to joining in 2008, I was working as a graphic designer at a leading advertising agency. At the time I was looking for a technology company where I could switch tracks and dive deeper into UI and UX design. Back in the day, the resources were limited, so I was attracted to the people at Progress (previously Telerik), who were some of the best professionals doing product design in Bulgaria and were ready to share their knowledge with me.