Progress Guys

Hi folks,

This is a kinda follow on from an earlier post about a big Progress customer someone had seen - sorry, I was flicking through really quickly and can't remember who posted it :)

Anyway, one of my big problems with Progress is that I know it's damm good, and Progress know it's damm good, yet, hardly anyone has heard of it !!

Yet, my account manager actually came up with the following statement :

'Apart from SAP (spit), Progress has more bums on seats that any other vendor' - hmmm - comments please folks - I think personally he's had too many 'wacky cigs' or he's seriously playing with statistics ....

Anyone heard of any big guys who use Progress - come on - lets build up a fairly decent list -

I can't add many here cos' I don't know any really big multi-nationals who use it (bit embaressing as I've been working with Progress for 12+ years).

Have a nice weekend. :awink:

Cheers,
Dave.

gcampbell

hi Dave,

He is probably referring to the facts that Progress posted (see below).

The main reason that no one knows who Progress is, is that they are sold as an embedded part of a VARs (ISVs .. whatever) app. People know that they are using such-and-such an application (like MFG/PRO) but they don't know that it is written/running using Progress. SAP (Oracle etc) themselves sell their own products and other (consultants or companies) modify for specific industries.

A nice option would be for Progress to sell Enteprise licences (like Oracle) but even that may not matter for the databse.