Error reading socket, ret=10053, errno=2. (778)

widget1967

We have a slight network problem at the moment which we are trying to resolve, it could be a PC software problem, perhaps our AV/Firewall software or a physical network issues, but I’m confident we will tack it down eventually.

What happens is this; PC’s once or twice a day momentarily lose their connection to the network, this causes no problems for Outlook, file shares etc as they automatically recover but it causes havoc with our Case Management system and its Progress dB, our users are bombed out with the following error message…

Error reading socket, ret=10053, errno=2. (778)

We use the OpenEdge graphical client 10.2B and I was wondering is there anything we can do to improve resilience, so rather than a crash the client just reconnects to its database session when the network comes back.

I’m afraid I have little experience of OpenEdge, the Case Management system is supported by the company who develop it, but they have been unable to suggest anything other than fix the underlying problem, but that could take time as myself and two support companies are at a bit of loss to explain the drop outs.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Cringer

ProgressTalk.com Moderator
Staff member
As far as I know there's nothing you can do. If you lose connection to the database then that's it... unless you're running a fully client/server model in which case it might be possible to trap and deal with... but I suspect that's unlikely.

RealHeavyDude

AFAIK when that happens it is a STOP condition for the client session - which means it re-runs the first procedure in the session.