Connect to Progress v9 on Tru64 from windows?

Manic

Is there any way I can connect to a Progress v9 database on a Tru64 (Digital) Unix from a Win32 station or a win32 webserver? I was just looking at the Merant site (now called data direct I think) and it looks like thier product Matrix says that I can't do this with their current product line.

I am an SQL guy and want to be able to use ASP or PHP on a web server to present data on the web with my Win 2k webserver the same I would grab data from SQL server or Oracle databases...

Any ideas are helpful!

Thanks

U

Unregistered

Ahh yes. Look at www.peg.com where this sort of things was discussed last week. SQL-92 may be what you are looking for.

Murray

U

Unregistered

It will be a bit problematic. When you define your DNS connection, you must state PUB.table for some weird reason.

Manic

Thanks, but... I'm even further back than that!

Sorry for sounding dumb, but I'm still a real newbie here - I went to the PEG to look at the lists and i can only see back about a week - I've subscribed to a couple a groups so I don't miss anything that comes up - is there any way i can see "archived" threads?

I also don't have any ODBC, ADO, or OLE DB drivers for my client system (Win32) or for my server yet(Tru 64 Unix - Formerly digital unix) I'm reasonably new to Unix and to Progress and to Progress running on Unix and don't know what's going to be the best route to get data out of my system so that i can present it on the web (and maybe even write some data back to the database!) I can do a bit of character programming in the 4GL and I'm very familiar with ASP/Coldfusion/PHP serverside scripting on webservers and have previously only worked with SQL server and Oracle databases