Cim Load

AndyH

I have been using CIM to load our test data. I create the Cim file then
load using 36.15.2 option. I have been loading to 1.2.5(PPPLPMT.p) batches of aroung 750 records. This process takes hours for these many records.
I'm new to Progress so not sure where to start looking for the problem.

AIX
Progress 9.1.D

Thanks for any help

You may want to take this over to the QAD section of the list - there may be some better resources checking there!

As to the general "It doesn't go fast enough", here are a couple of things to check out.

When you are running the CIM load, try to get some hardware/OpSys statistics regarding CPU utilisation and Disk utilistation. Also find out how much memory your database is using and how much the system has to spare.

Rule 1 of making it go faster. More memory will almost always help.

Rule 2 of making it go faster. More disk will usually help.

Rule 3 of making it go faster. More CPU will sometimes help.

It may be that resources are not available to Progress at the correct time. More memory may mean cutting back on some other application or tweaking a system parameter, not just rushing off to your local IBM office!

Promon also has some good output. When you are running the load, go into Promon and select R&D (not a displayed option but supported). Then select option 2, 1 and press S to get a fresh sample (rather than Data from the last time the server was brought up). That gives you a 10 second sample. Wait a couple of minutes and then press U which will update the statistics on the screen with the activity since you began your sample.

Things to look for
Buffer Hits - Less than 95% is poor. - If below 95% then make more memory available to the database using -B
BI Buf Waits - As small as you can get it - Startup parameter can be set to help this -bibufs