Question About Raid Vs. Vm Configurations

Hello All,

I went through some info on the basics in this area:
Loads of Progress info and documentation links...
My qustions is about this remark:
Note your RAID level(s), if any. RAID 1, good. RAID 10, great. RAID 5 (and other parity-based variants): eeeevil. Avoid it like the plague.
How does a VM machine with RIAD5 (a pretty much default setting for all our VM hosts) fit into this sentence? I have a Linux box on a VM with only 1 huge filesystem where everything is located.

Code:
Filesystem  1K-blocks  Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda1  24797380  4811720  18705684  21% /
/dev/sda3  376931920  34419928 323056076  10% /XXX

/XXX is where the whole application and database are located - in my opinion a rather unprofessional approach. Does anyone have any experience with VM's configurations and performance considerations?

As a DBA I always like to make clear separations of the application, flat files and databases using different dedicated file systems, as this is a third party configuration, I probably will have little to say about it, but I am curious as to what people think.

Cheers,
Ryszard

RealHeavyDude

RAID 5 in combination with virtualization ist the worst case scenario when it comes to performance for any RDBMS. Don't get me wrong: It might be great from an administrativ point of view and also cost wise. But you just have to live with the "kinda" performance you might get out of this combination.

Heavy Regards, RealHeavyDude.

TheMadDBA

Tom will be in shortly to yell at me about this :D but... Your real world experience with RAID 5 will vary based on a number of factors.

While it is very true that writing to parity based raid is slower than a comparable RAID 1/10 array... sometimes that doesn't matter. Or doesn't matter enough. Some databases are tiny relative to the hardware they run on and most are heavily weighted towards reads instead of writes.