Question What's wrong with my code?

Dave Reyes

Hi. I'm quite new to Progress programming, so I'm not really familiar with all the codes.
I'm trying to figure out what's wrong with this one, can anyone help me?

Code:
ON 'WINDOW-CLOSE':U OF wMain_SNL.r:
DO:
    FIND CURRENT Users NO-LOCK NO-ERROR.
    FIND FIRST LogRest WHERE LogRest.Username = Users.Username.
    IF AVAIL LogRest THEN DO:
        DELETE LogRest.
    END.
    RETURN.
END.

I have two tables here, Users and LogRest(Login Restriction).
My idea is to delete the table entry in LogRest when the main window closes.

RealHeavyDude

What exactly is your issue?

But:
  • The FIND FIRST is bad practice - assuming that you don't allow more than 1 LogRest records per User.
  • Using plural for talbe names is not good practice.
  • FIND CURRENT will only work when there is already a record in the Users buffer.
  • You might miss the APPLY CLOSE TO THIS-PROCEDURE if your have a corresponding WAIT-FOR in the main block.

Heavy Regards, RealHeavyDude.

Cringer

ProgressTalk.com Moderator
Staff member
ON 'WINDOW-CLOSE':U OF wMain_SNL.r:

is wMain_SNL.r really the name of your window?

GregTomkins

1. FIND CURRENT is probably not what you want. That only really works if you're sure there is already a record in the buffer. You probably want something like 'find users where users.username = some variable that you use to keep track of the current user'.

2. The FIND FIRST (or just FIND, if you take RHD's advice, which is common) should probably have a NO-ERROR on it. It doesn't make sense to have an IF AVAIL ... test without a NO-ERROR on the related FIND. Generally you should have both (NO-ERROR and IF AVAIL) but having one and not the other is usually wrong.

TomBascom

Curmudgeon
Everything that RHD said is bang-on.

As Cringer says, that looks like an odd window name. Also, the colon after the window name looks like an error to me. It might be legal -- but it is certainly not normal.