WebSpeed Session Handling

israelm

Hi there, it's me again, i was wondering if webSpeed is able to handle session.

Best Regards!
Israel M.

RealHeavyDude

You don't give any basic information like the Progress/OpenEdge version you're running ...

What do you mean by "is WebSpeed able to handle session" ?.

If you want to maintain context between successive request you need to implement your context management. WebSpeed and the AppServer provide all features you need to do so.

HTH, RealHeavyDude.

israelm

Hi,

Im using Progress/Open Edge

Version: 10.2.0.00
OpenEdge Release: 10.2A

My question is if it can handle Session Vars, i have never worked with OPenEdge before and i am not sure how to create session vars.
PHP i use something like:

session_start();
$_SESSION['MyVar'];
session_destroy();

That way the server create a unique session id (SID) and allow me to distinguish different users.
What i am trying to do is to validate users after they logged and know if they have had more than 15m of inactivity and things like that.

I think this could be fixed by the context management you mentioned, but how can i implement it ?

Thank's in advance.
Best Regards!

Israel M.

Casper

ProgressTalk.com Moderator
Staff member
Hi.

Although most people prefer to make there own session management, WebSpeed also comes with a build in session management.

on the messenger you need to set in $DLC/properties/ubroker.porperties: useConnID=1
in the environment section of the webspeed agent you need to set SESSION_PATH. This should point to a directory where you woud like to store the session variables.
If you have done this then you can use setSession("VarName","VarValue") to set variables and getSession("Varname") to retrieve values.
The sessionvariables are stored in a file name ENCODE(SESSION:SERVER-CONNECTION-ID).tmp.
This method of has its flaws like: Values are always stored as character and maximum size of file is 32K (well at least it used to be) and so on.