vm Backup software that's Progress aware

pinne65

Hello,

We are looking into accuiring backup software for vmware that's able to backup our RHEL Progress 10.2B server .

We want to be able to snapshot a vm with a running database in a consistent state.

We are looking at Veeam and Netvault.

Anyone else have any experience of this?

On another note, has anyone used vmotion to move a running Progress database from one host to another?

Cheers!

Rob Fitzpatrick

ProgressTalk.com Sponsor
On another note, has anyone used vmotion to move a running Progress database from one host to another?

I don't have experience with it myself but I know of others who do it. It would be advisable to take a quiet point, and confirm it completes, before migrating the VM. You need the Enterprise license to do that.

TomBascom

Curmudgeon
PROBKUP is the only "Progress-aware" backup utility that I know of.

Like Rob, I have no personal experience with vmotion. But I know people who use it successfully.

tamhas

ProgressTalk.com Sponsor
Pray and try is not a one time experiment ... I.e., knowing whether it really worked and would work every time is not easily provable. It is easy to prove that something doesn't work because it fails, but things can appear to work and/or work "most of the time". Myself, real security comes with probkup, even if you do it to disk and then use other methods to move the disk image to other media.

Chris Hughes

ProgressTalk.com Sponsor
The best bet, as well as taking the advice already given, is to use your Veeam etc as the OS backup that may work with the database.

Use probkup, switch after imaging on. Then if you have to restore the machine and the database is corrupt you can prorest the database and roll it forward.

I did see something once that suggested if your database is an 8k block size but your disk is 4k block size half blocks can be written - this could be a risk with the tools you are planning to use.

LynnReas