Progress Explorer Tool Question

Tom2010

Hi,

I am new to Progress and am trying to create a new server for the Demo database in 10.2B. I have several questions.

(1) When I type a Path and filename of a database into the Database Properties window, the comment at the bottom always says "database not found", would this change dynamically if the path was correct? I only ask as whatever path I use this message never changes. The database is on a mapped drive would this make any difference?

(2) I was getting the "Item not networked..." message so I specified a free port in the server group properties (should this port be in the dynamic port range or outwith it?), but now when it runs it gives the message:

Error in startup of database localhost:20931: Demo. Message:
10:32:02 Broker *** This process terminated with exit code 1. (8619) (JUNMsg024)

What might cause this message to appear?

(3) Whats the point of having a dynamic port range under the Advanced menu if you have to specify a port for the server to start?

Thanks for your help.

Tom

RealHeavyDude

Hello Tom

1) I think is a bug or a feature :awink:

2) When you don't specify a TCP port or service name in the server group then the server group is started by the Admin Server but it immediately looses contact with and can't access it anymore because the server group is not networked - that's the error you got. When this happens there is no way to stop the database server with the Admin Server you must shut down it manually from the command line with the proshut command. That's where the error comes from. Although it's not networked the server group ( which is essentially a login broker ) is already running.

3) The dynamic port range is relevant when you need the open specific ports on a firewall, or you need to sort out a conflict in ports, for example. It specifies the range the remote severs ( which are started by the broker and which serve the remote clients ) register itself in the network.