Get at Progress data via Dump/Export/ODBC/ADO.Net

Ed B

Hi All,

I am new to progress, so apologies if i say anything stupid.

Our App is .Net 2.0/Winforms/Sql Server 2005. A minor but necesary feature is required that has to read data from another vendors progress database that we have no control over.

I've spent a few days trying evaluate how to get at the progress data with little luck. My requirements are:

1) Low installation footprint (we don't want to have to ship a whole heap of components just to get access to progress for this one feature)

2) Free or Royality free runtime (we don't mind paying for a component but we are shipping to a large number of client sites so we don't want to pay for every site unless its very cheap)

3) Works with Progress 9.1D and higher

4) Some level of automation - end users are not necesarily computer savvy, but they can follow instructions if required (ie if they have to stop the DB server or something like that)

I have the other vendors product installed on my machine (along with Progress 9.1D - Workgroup Database Licence - which was shipped with that product).

I have tried to download progress source files and compiled program files but if I try to execute them, progress reports that I cannot compile programs with the version I have installed - so it appears that will be of no use when deployed to client sites.

I can dump using proutil.exe but it results in a binary file that I'm no so keen on trying to interpret.

I have tried the Merant ODBC drivers, but get "Error in Network Daemon", I get exactly the same error trying to use the progress "SQL Explorer Tool". I have the "Client Networking" component installed, not sure if I am missing anything else.

I looked into the OpenLink ADO.Net Provider but they sell per server licences and there is too much junk to install.

Can anyone point me towards a possible solution?