How to activate Eclipse Intellisense (type-ahead)?

regulatre

I'm just starting out with the Enterprise Architect using Eclipse. I'm wondering how to activate the feature where the editor will type-ahead certain things. For instance list the fields of a table as you type the table name followed by a dot.

I think Microsoft calls it intellisense, not sure what the correct terminology is in Eclipse.

As I am typing 4gl code in Eclipse it colors the keywords and capitalizes them, but i'm just not getting the intellisense yet.

Thanks

robsp

I haven't seen an automatic intellisense.

But with STRG-SPACE you should get a layer with all keywords beginning with the characters you typed in. So it's a manual intellisense.

And I like it this way. ;-)

Kind regards
Robert Prediger

regulatre

Eclipse Rocks!

Good enough for me. Hitting CONTROL+Space does show available keywords. As for getting the database field names, the problem I had was that I wasn't connected to the DB through tools-data dictionary. Once I connected to the DB, it showed up on the DB tab at the bottom, and I could then drag and drop fields into my code.

Maybe in the next version they'll add a feature to detect in the code when I start typing a table name, then show a list of field suggestions.

robsp said:
I haven't seen an automatic intellisense.

But with STRG-SPACE you should get a layer with all keywords beginning with the characters you typed in. So it's a manual intellisense.

And I like it this way. ;-)

Kind regards
Robert Prediger

robsp

But field-suggestion is working!
And I like it.

For this you have to have a connection not in tools, but in "Windows / Preferences" of Eclipse.

regulatre

In what section? I set up various connection profiles already but it's not keying off of those. I also tried specifying project startup parameters such as -db DatabaseName, etc. but that didn't do the trick either.

Where in preferences did you specify the DB connection information?

robsp said: