dumping progress 6.2 database

jdelange22

Hi there,

I'm new to the progress stuff. I'm looking for a way to make a dump from the progress 6.2 database so that I can import the data to MySQL or ORACLE. The database is running on a Novell 4.11 Server. It can run under DOS as well. Since I'm a young DBadmin I'm not very familiar with both Novell and Progress. Both are very outdated versions as you can see. Is there a simple way to get a dump or can someone point out some tools that can make CSF or someother readable file-format from the progress database??? I've tried running progress under DOS and ran every executable I could find but it simply doesn't make sense to me at all. Please give your advise... I'm a newbe to this.

Greetings,
Jan de Lange

If the database is active, your best bet would be to shut down the server, truncate the bi file, copy the .db file onto a local hard drive, then access the database using _progres.exe.

However, that might not make any sense to you.

If you just want the data, for a one-off dump to be reloaded into another database, which seems to be the case, then try this:
1. Copy the .db file from the Novell server to a local drive. (It would be better to have the remote db on a mapped drive, but you should be able to access it through Network Neighborhood)
2. find out where your V6 directory is (try SET under DOS and looking for the entry DLC=) and change to the directory under DLC, then change to the BIN directory. So, if you have DLC=P:\DLC62 then change to p drive p:, then change to the progress bn directory cd\dlc62\bin
3. Start the progress executable _progres.exe, but you might need some start-up parameters. For c:\temp\mydb.db, try _progres -1 -db c:\temp\mydb
4. Choose Tools - Data Dictionary
5. Choose Admin - Dump Data and Definitons - Table Contents (.d file)
6. Move the cursor to ALL and press ENTER
7. Press F1