Blank Java Error when trying to create stored procedure

regulatre

I would like to create my first stored procedure, so I have created what I think is an extremely simple (so it should work, right?) procedure that does basically nothing.

My Query (executed through SQL Explorer tool)

create procedure MyFirstProcedure ()
BEGIN
string strHello = new String (20) ;
END

The Response:
=== SQL Exception 1 ===
SQLState=HY000
ErrorCode=-210058
[JDBC OpenEdge Driver]:Error from Java compiler. Compiler messages follow.(10727)

Note that there are no Java errors shown!

1. Where can I go to read the errors? Logfile?
2. Since I've never done this successfully before, I may have something misconfigured... My DB is definitely running and connected, and I can execute other queries against it.

Any help appreciated - Thanks!!!

Casper

ProgressTalk.com Moderator
Staff member
Hi Regulatre,

Did you try some of the code examples given in the Knowledge Base?
For instance KB:p20617: http://tinyurl.com/d7g9m

Regarding your code: String should be with a capital S, and since you probably want to return the string you can also say something like: String strHello = "Hello World";

Furthermore if you return something then you have to define a RESULT like given in the KB example.

Good luck,

Casper.

regulatre

No Errors

Thanks for the note. The problem is that no java errors are ever shown... Is this by design? If so then my second problem is that I am not able to create any stored procedure, no matter how simple it is.

The same error is always returned (see below). How can I make sure the java compiler is configured properly on the server?

=== SQL Exception 1 ===
SQLState=HY000
ErrorCode=-210058
[JDBC OpenEdge Driver]:Error from Java compiler. Compiler messages follow.(10727)

regulatre

I just tried creating a stored proc on my development server and that one returned the java error message - that's good!