Which AJAX Framework are you using?

Cecil

19+ years progress programming and still learning.
Hi All

I have been hunting around the net trying to find a Simple to use AJAX framework Javascript Library.

So far I have looked at :
  • Dojo
  • JQuery
  • Prototype (look's the best so far)
  • qooxdoo
  • Script.aculo.us (another possible)
I have written my own mashed up ajax.js file but it is not very robust. I am not a Javascript developer but I am learning.

I want to be able to post forms via AJAX request. Populate forms. Display a table where the data comes from a dynamically generated XML file from WebSpeed.

So back to my question but AJAX framework are you using?

James.

joey.jeremiah

ProgressTalk Moderator
Staff member
none of them really so i can't compare.

i use spry, from adobe http://labs.adobe.com/technologies/spry/

i use dreamweaver for everything web related and spry came in the box, so to speak.

the dreamweaver book i used did a fantastic job covering spry (i read the dreamweaver the missing manual. i went through half a dozen html/css/javascript etc. books this is the only book i should have read).

and the best part is the tight integration with dreamweaver and it's tools. i hardly needed to hack any code.

Cecil

Thanks Joey.

I have looked at spry before but I knocked on the head, but after your reply I looked at again. I have now developed a simple search and display results using spry I was surprised how easy it was to convert and existing HTML page with forms into AJAX page.

However I still can't find any really good examples/instructions using spry. The SPRY API documentation has conflicting and fictional (i.e. methods and attributes which are documented but don't exist) commands.

I download the "The missing manual" book but after flicking though a couple of chapters, it was showing a how-to using Dream weaver. Not sure if this is the correct book for me.