Three questions to ask when building and distributing custom ODBC drivers

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Sumit Sarkar

So you want to build an ODBC driver?

Congratulations

First, I want to say congratulations since this project reflects well on the popularity of your data source. As a Systems Engineer, I have worked with numerous shops on this project in each phase from planning, development, testing all the way to production; and I want to share the things that typically go overlooked.

This applies to all the common approaches including:

• Build your own from scratch
  • Build your own using the DataDirect ODBC SDK
  • Build a published database protocol such as Hadoop Hive, MySQL or Postgres and defer to open source drivers.

Building an ODBC driver is very much like the Harlem Shake. You build a single prototype and it seems to be doing ok, and then the base drops; and you have total chaos ranging from “our largest prospect cannot use open source driver managers on Linux” to “a request for a 64-bit AIX client the very next day for Informatica PowerCenter”.

If you’ve never seen a Harlem Shake, our friends at Plex Systems produced one, along with great ODBC connectivity:

1. Does the ODBC driver support Unix/Linux?

When you build a Unix/Linux ODBC client, there are a lot of things to consider upon releasing a driver:

• What applications does your user base need connectivity from today versus future use as adoption grows? Perhaps your users are looking to federate data in real-time using the Oracle Database Gateway for ODBC; and down the road they might need direct access from home grown web applications; business intelligence tools (Business Objects, Cognos, OBIEE, Microstrategy, SAS, SPSS, etc); or data integration tools (Informatica PowerCenter, Ab Initio, IBM DataStage, SAP Data Services, etc).