Printer UNC

GirlNet

I'm fairly new to Progress - but have lot of programming experience in other languages. Some of our custom code references a printer unc path (to be utilized by BottomLine) on output. I can't find any reference to it in the code itself. I only see the unc path when I print to file.

I'm trying to duplicate this. Can anyone help with my confusion?;p

If you cant see the reference then how do you know its unc name? send in the screen shot to explain your question better.

GirlNet

At the top of the output *.prn is this \\mfgpro-edi\acctrico which BottomLine (Optio) uses to know which printer to use for the actual printed document. Also, I don't see the unc path when I output to page - only in the *.prn document.

I've talked to Optio about it and they seem to think it's a QAD thing. I talk to QAD about it and they think it's an Optio thing. I'm thinking maybe it's a custom code thing.

It not on every document, just some - and it does seem to only appear when there's custom code involved. So . . . where does it come from? I can't find any reference to it in the code. Is there a include file that may reference it?

I was just hoping someone here may have a clue for me. Any light on this would be greatly appreciated!

GirlNet

Maybe I should add that I also checked the include files I saw referenced in the custom code and I didn't see anything that would given me a clue. This is a real mystery for me. . .

When you say top of the OUTPUT, what does it refer to? where do you see it?

Optio uses files generated from MFG/PRO (*.prn) in your case its a unc path. Then optio redirects it to the assigned printer after formatting it.

This line is in PROGRESS program? or OPTIO setup. If this is in PROGRESS , It cant be just this there has to be OUTPUT statement as well.

GirlNet