How to retrieve system catalog using ODBC

Tony@DataLynx

Hi, I'm new to Progress so please be gentle with me!

I have a customer who has a Progress database and I have been asked to perform some Data Quality evaluation of their data. My company has written a data profiling tool which connects via ODBC, returns the schema and allows us to browse the data and to define and apply data quality rules.

I have managed to set up the ODBC connection and it seems to work ok (test connection seems is ok), but our software cannot retrieve the database catalog. We use standard ODBC functions calls which are have previously worked with Oracle, Sql-Server, Access, Postgres and other relational databases. The are no obvious errors returned from the query, just a blank list.

Unfortunately I don't have my own copy of Progress and I don't easily have the facility to debug our software at our client's site.

Under the hood I believe our software will make this call to

SQLTables(hstmt,
NULL, 0, // All qualifiers
NULL, 0, // User specified
NULL, 0, // All tables
NULL, 0); // All columns )

I can see that I have not specified a database name here, so would you expect this to work?

Is there something I need to know to set up the ODBC driver?

I'd be grateful for any assistance.

Tony

vinod_home

what does SQLTables do?
Regular sql commands would work and you would be able to get a list of Tables that are in the Progress database, but unless you have grants to read the data you will not be able to do what you need. You can get the table-names from a system table _File. (Example: select "_File-Name" from pub."_File"; )

Under the hood I believe our software will make this call to

SQLTables(hstmt,
NULL, 0, // All qualifiers
NULL, 0, // User specified
NULL, 0, // All tables
NULL, 0); // All columns )

Tony@DataLynx

what does SQLTables do?