8.3 on Windows 2003 - also SQL-92 ODBC

aYDee

OK, I'm new to this, just need to find out a few things.

We have Progress 8.3 on Windows NT and need to extract data to an Oracle database. Will installing SQL-92 ODBC work with this configuration.

Also we are planning to upgrade to Windows server 2003, and have been advised to upgrade to Progress 9.2E as 8.3 will not work in Windows 2003 (which to me does not sound right)

What would be the most efficient way to extract the data from the progress database, all suggestions welcome.

All Progress development etc will be phased out by 2006, so additional database upgrades etc are not really necessary.

So my big question is:

1. Will Progress 8.3 work on Windows 2003

2. Will SQL-92 work with Progress 8.3

3. What other utilities do you recommend to extracting data from the progress database - keep in mind we do not have Progress skills or programmers on site.

Thanks in advance.

aYDee

gcampbell

If Progress states that 8.3 won't be supported on 2003 then listen to them. If anyone knows it will be them ...

And 8.3 is only SQL-89 compatible.

As for extraction of data .... is it a one-time thing or an on-going thing?

aYDee

Thanks for the reply, data will be extracted daily to an Oracle database, still have to figure out how this will be done.

Windows 2003 is just an upgrade to Windows 2000 - have to love how one is forced to upgrade.

SQL-89 on 8.3 and SQL-92 on 9.2 - these are our options - Win2003 only for the latter !

Considering that this particular system will be dead in 18 months, having to upgrade is not something we look forward to. When we move to a new system later on the data extracts to the data warehouse will just be redirected to the new system - which has yet to be determined.